A New Experience

Hello, my name is Gail, and I am the new Property Manager of Storage Station.  You can find me going back in forth between the Greenwood Lake Turnpike and the White Road locations. I am a local resident.

I moved to West Milford in 1998, originally from the Caldwell area, and I love it here, it really is a beautiful place to live. The people are friendly; everyone will smile and say “Hello” to you as you walk past them.  There is a lot to do around here, besides eating and drinking.  The lakes are beautiful; you can go swimming or boating.  I recently took up hiking this year, so I’ve been seeing a lot more of West Milford that I didn’t even know existed. There are so many different trails, for all levels of expertise.  There are beautiful views from up on top of the mountains, I could just sit there all day. I always see a hawk or vulture fly by.  I also do volunteer work at the local animal shelter, and yes, I have taken home a lot of animals throughout the years I have been volunteering. Let’s just say that I’m a softie when it comes to the older animals.   And I also enjoy sitting on my deck and watching  the local wildlife walk by.  I still get a kick of seeing the bears going thru my back yard, almost daily.

I started working at the Storage Station on December 2.  I never worked at a storage facility before, so I didn’t really know what to expect.  The Greenwood Lake Turnpike facility is quite large, almost 500 units, most of them have outdoor access, but we do have many units in our climate control building, in case you have valuable furniture or electronic items.  This is a busy place, and there is a lot to learn, but I think I am picking up on things quickly.  Everyone that I work with has been very nice and supportive during my training period.

My day typically starts at 9:45am (I have one of the easiest commutes, less than 2 miles), and I do a drive around the buildings, just to make sure that everyone’s unit is secure.  I then unlock the front door, turn on the computer, check for and return any messages, and emails, check our payment box for payments, and process them.  I check the items on my “To Do List” and make sure everything is complete.  At this time, I usually make some coffee for myself, and most days, I actually get to drink it!  By this time, I usually get my mail delivery, so I process whatever payments that I receive.

Within my first week here, I experienced my first auction.  Having watched many marathons of Storage Wars, I was really looking forward to it.  We had 6 units up for auction, and a group of 4 very nice men came in to bid on them.  It went very quickly, the units were sold, and everyone paid and left. It was a lot like Storage Wars, except the men that brought the units didn’t fling the “garbage” across the parking lot.  They were very respectful and picked up after themselves. It was actually a lot of fun,  however it’s unfortunate when people don’t pay their rent since in the end  their items usually get sold at public auction .  .

So far, each day has been different.  I never know what to expect.  I never know who will stop by to pay their rent, or even rent a unit or close out their unit.  The diversity is what makes this job exciting. I’ve had many jobs that were the same thing each day, each week, each month…Boring!  I use to do advertising sales for a radio station.  That was fun, but it was the same thing each day, and I had to drive around all day, about 100 miles a day.  This 2 mile commute is so much better!

We have a lot of different sized unites available to rent.  From a closet size 5×5 up to a 2 car garage sized 10 x 40.  There is easy access to each unit.  We have units that are in a fenced and gated area. Only renters with an access code are allowed thru our gate.  These units are not 24 hour access, but you can stop by your unit as late as 10pm.  If you prefer 24 hour access (if you are a night owl, or you work crazy hours) we have units for that.  They are not behind a  controlled access gate, but   have some monitoring by our security cameras.

There are also parking spaces available for your cars, trucks, boats and RVs. There are a wide range of prices that will fit most budgets.

Each person has their own reasons for renting storage units, whether you are downsizing your living space, moving and need to store your items temporally, or just items you want to keep, but just don’t want in your home anymore.  You can store just about any non-hazardous item in a self storage unit. And please, no live animals, or people, and we just ask that your store your 6 caret engagement ring in a safe deposit box at the bank. Things with that kind of value don’t belong in a self storage unit . If you are looking to rent a unit, but not sure what size you need, stop by, I can help you determine the right size you need.  I would be happy to show you around our facility, and show you all our different units.  You can stop by or call us anytime to make a payment too.

The one part of my job that I don’t like, is having to lock tenants out of their units due to failure to pay their monthly rent.  I really feel bad doing it, but it is something that I have to do, like it or not, I wish I didn’t have to do it. I know it’s hard to pay all your bills each month, but this is a business.  If you don’t make your car payment, your car gets taken away, right?

Stop by anytime, I would like to meet you.  We can chat, have a cup of coffee, and discuss your storage need.  We are located at 1867 Greenwood Lake Turnpike in West Milford, between Paul’s and Cooper Tires, and our other location is 11 White Road in West Milford, next to Gomm’s Tires.  I am looking forward to seeing you soon.

Local Self Storage Provider in West Milford NJ, Wayne NJ, Toms River NJ and Middletwon NY .

Tagged with:
Posted in Self-Storage

Leave a Reply

